Call
Chat

Steamboat Springs

Traveler(s)

Customer Reviews

Overall Experience*

4.5
Excellent
*based on the average of all Overall Experience ratings given in Traveler reviews.
Jim in Torrington
22/02/2012

Steamboat Excellence

Steamboat Springs does a lot for the skiing community that other resorts don't even try. Simply put you will have a great time with the 165 trails to pick from. There is something for all skill and age levels. Tree skiing to groomed runs and several terrain parks to choose from. The ski area is only a 30 minute drive from the Hayden airport and there are free bus shuttles from the area to town. The residents are very friendly and are great with their Western hospitality.
Lawrence in Darien
16/02/2012

Great Place

Large mountain with lots of great rails. Don't miss the free service provided by the Over The Hill Gang....a great skiing experience
William in East northport
30/01/2012

Steamboat

Overall a good resort. Mountain layout makes it difficult to get around. Lacked mountain ambassadors at the top of lifts to provide guidance and recommendations. Poor trail signs did not provide adequate direction to lifts or on mountain dining. Not much near mountain shopping or restaurants. Hard to get a feel for the base area
Florence in Saint paul
18/01/2012

Friendly Steamboat

I went to Steamboat in 2009 and loved it. I was accompanied by my son and his wife. We all had a great time skiing that year as there was a great deal of new (and old) snow. We went again this January - 2012. The snow was marginal, but the trails were well-groomed and we had a good time with our favorite sport. I injured my knee on the slopes in 2009. I was impressed by how well I was cared for by the ski patrol and people at the local clinic. The staff at our lodging (Trappeur's Crossing) were especially helpful in transporting me around and providing encouragement. Of all the places I have skied, Steamboat is the most friendly and accommodating. I recommend it to anyone who wants an enjoyable and stress-free ski vacation.
crissy in Wiscasset
07/04/2011

Steamboat is still a favorite ski destination for our family!

We have skied Steamboat before Gondolas and before Gondola Square. After 18 years, we have returned, and we were not disappointed. The ski slopes have the best wide runs for the beginners, and now offer special attractions for boarders, too. We always enjoyed downtown Steamboat because of the well preserved town. There are still some decent restaurants too. The staff at Sport Stalker are THE FRIENDLIEST anywhere! We highly recommend them for renting your gear.
H in Jacksonville
29/03/2011

Steamboat Springs perfect family vacation

We took our 10 and 4 year old to Steamboat Springs and it was a fantastic family vacation! There was tons of snow, the mountain was fantastic and it wasn't too crowded. Our kids had never skiied and loved ski school and the coaches were fabulous. We found everyone at ski school to be very caring and accomodating. In fact, every person that worked at Steamboat that we dealt with was friendly and helpful. The town was close by and very cute. There were plenty of restaurants and we also had a great time tubing and going on a sleigh ride.
Jennifer in Creole
13/03/2011

We LOVED Steamboat Springs

My daughters, Emily 6 and Madison 12, had never been in snow or real snow were from Southwest Louisiana. We fly to Hayden Co, and took a shuttle to our resort which was at the foot of the mountain in a In & Out resort. Sking was great we watched from our balancy, walked everywhere, and the Gondala was outside our door. The public bus was outside our door. Food great, veiws breathless, and very very very family friendly. We had a blast can't wait to go back next year. The whole experience was wonderful. Ski.com was very knowledgable and a very good value. Our agent was great.
Chad in Dixon
07/02/2011

Steamboat is Awesome

If you are looking for a mountain that has it all, this is the place for you. The skiing is great, the shopping is good and also the night life. Everyone we met were very friendly. I would recommend Steamboat to anyone. They has some very challenging trails all the way down to intermediate.The preview is going to say we stayed in 2010 but we actually stays in Jan.Feb of 2011.
Annalisa in Hialeah
03/02/2011

Steamboat Springs ia Amazing Skiing!!

We booked through Ski.Com ... again ... So easy and helpful, both times our representatives have been great! This was our second trip to Steamboat and we loved it! The snow was fabulous this year!!! We really enjoy Trappeurs Crossing, its great accommodations, everything that you need is there,great pool and hot tubs too... for those weary legs after skiing all over the mountain. We have never stayed at such a service orientated resort... the locals are so kind and considerate. The free bus and shuttles are so handy, you can travel all over the town too. Loved the Mexican food at the Cantina!!!
josiah in Beaumont
18/12/2010

Steamboat in Three words: A - MAZE - ING!!!

I am a returning guest to Steamboat year in and year out, and every year it some how is a little better. I usually go with my family, but this year my buddies and I decided to go on a guys trip only. Worked out great!!! I will absolutely be returning to steamboat as long as I'm able to step down on the bindings!!!
Britt in Silver spring
17/12/2010

We will be back...

Leaving the east coast with 5ft of new snow in the yard was difficult. But first trip down Mt. Werner confirmed this was a great ski destination. For a family we have found no better hill.
Pat in Oak park
02/03/2010

We love Steamboat!

Steamboat Springs is a fantastic ski resort in terms of the friendly, hospitable people, the multitude of ski runs, and casual atmosphere. It's one of our favorite ski locations.
bob in Fairfax
25/02/2010

lack of snow

we have skied all of colorado, utah, montana, most of canada, vermont, west virginia, pennsylvania, nevada, and most of the european alps. we decided to come to steamboat springs simply for it's champagne powder and all the great things that we had heard about the skiing. however, we were greatly disappointed in the lack of snow, the size of the ski resort, the lack of night life and the lack of restaurants around the mountain base. Anybody reading this, would think that we are a bunch of premodonnas, but that is not true, we just feel, we have skiied much better ski resorts, with a lot better snow, diverse variety of cusine and much bigger mountains. So, in all fairness, if they had more snow, the trip would have been a lot better, but still there is not much to do for adults or kids after dinner time ( 6 to 7 pm ) at or around the mountain base.
Leslie in Chesterton
17/02/2010

Gorgeous mountain; Can't wait to go back.

I absolutely loved Steamboat. It was easily accessible from the airport which was one of the reasons I decided to ski there. The mountain was beautiful and even though there wasn't any fresh powder when I was there, the skiing was still great. I will be back soon.
Susan in Fort myers
29/01/2010

Third Visit

Like it so much we keep coming back!
carolyn in Madison
27/01/2010

we had a great time

we had a great time! The people were friendly. The skiing was fun. Our accomodations were lovely!!
Michele in Memphis
17/03/2009

Torian Plum Creekside at Steamboat Springs...

This was our family of 5 (2 adults, 3 kids)'s fourth trip to Steamboat, & we have always booked through a travel agent friend & Ski.com.  Together, they have helped us enjoy positive experiences.  Each year, we have learned more about the mountain, & we have become more comfortable with the Steamboat community.  This years vacation, my family 100% agrees, was the BEST ever!  At the Ski.com agent's suggestion, we stayed at a resort that was a bit more expensive than in the past, but it was so well worth the upgrade!!!  We had much more space & more amenities in our unit than in the past.  Again, we were guided to yet another incredible ski/snowboard vacation.  From the airport, we were taken to our condo.  Our equipment was delivered to us the same day that we arrived by experienced folks who knew how to properly fit us.  The complimentary shuttle took us to the grocery & back, & to other places around town, too.  In the afternoons, we would sit on our balcony & enjoy the sunshine & acoustic guitar player that entertained outside of the restaurant below our condo complex.  Sometimes we would go out to dinner, but most other meals were eaten in the comfort & ease of our condo, since we were at a ski in/ski out complex.  Economy withstanding, we look forward to doing this same trip again next year.  Thank you Ski.com!!! 
erin in Boston
12/03/2009

Great Mountain for First-Time Colorado Skiiers

My boyfriend and I are big New England skiiers and were looking forward to getting more vertical while skiing Colorado's legendary powder conditions. We got the former.

Unfortunately, since we visited in March, the conditions were more springlike than powder like, which meant mashed potatoes by noon, and ice skating the frozen remnants in the morning. The grooming also wasn't very good - even the trails that were claimed to be groomed were very chunky in places with frozen granular. Being an East Coast skiier, I can vouch that many of those resorts can groom ice chunk granular into corduroy, so this was a little disappointing.

Because Steamboat can't control the conditions, I'd still recommend it to a friend. The mountain itself is nice, with challenging terrain. We began on blues to be safe, but were soon skiing some of the tougher blacks. I wouldn't recommend this mountain to a beginner though, because its terrain only offers about 9% beginner trails, which are more cat tracks and narrow corridors leading to different lifts which are frequented by very advanced skiiers. The terrain very much caters to intermediate and expert skiiers, and offers various challenges - long steeps, short bumps, open cruisers, etc. The scenery also gives points to Steamboat, as well as the fact that we experienced little to no lift lines our entire stay.

Steamboat also has nightlife and off mountain activities for everyone. On the advice of our ski.com agent Diane, my boyfriend and I visited Strawberry Park Hot Springs via Sweet Pea Tours to soak in the natural warm pools after a long day of skiing. We also took a great snowmobile tour that took us 12000' vertical and onto the continental divide. Furthermore, the town of Steamboat Springs is easily accessible and has something for everyone - tourist shops, great restaurants (try Riggio's), and even Howelsen Hill (bring your ice skates, or try snow tubing).

Lastly, Steamboat is fairly accessible although it is not along the I-70 corridor. We flew into Hayden, a small airport where we literally deplaned on the runway. Be that as it might, the airport is only a short 90 minute flight from Minneapolis, and it is only a 30 minute shuttle drive from the resort.

All in all, we were very satisfied with both our vacation and our booking experience through ski.com
Eric in Port chester
07/03/2009

Ordinary until we got powder

Ordinary skiing all week until we got dumped on with powder our last day. Absolutely incredible powder skiing that one day.
Phillip in Clarksville
07/03/2009

Great Snow, Long Drive

Steamboat is a skiers ski resort. If you go spend most of your time on the hill searching out fabulous powder hidden along the "rope" runs. Although there is little in the way of Apres Ski, you can find some "Slopeside" at the bottom of the hill and "fourpoints" on the hill, but do not expect Whistler or Austrian parties. 
If you take the time to drive all the way to Steamboat find the off piste and let the boards ride. 
PB
Mary in Houma
07/03/2009

steamboat springs vacation 2009

My husband & I stayed at Ski Inn Condos. We were very impressed with the value & accommodations. We stayed in a 1 bedroom condo with a king size bed (very comfortable and well decorated). We had daily maid service & simply walked out the door for the Steamboat Resorts ski shuttle. It was very convenient because we did not have a rental car. Danielle with Ski.com did an excellent job with booking our vacation to Steamboat, Co.
Bob in Smyrna
07/03/2009

A+ Experience at Steamboat

Steamboat exceeded our expectations. This is not only a fabulous ski mountain with countless ski trails, but it offers a community feeling that is unique among ski resorts. My non-skiing wife also loved the resort more than any other, because it offers snowshoe trails on the ski mountain. Rather than driving somewhere, she was just a quick ride up the gondola to the snowshoe area.
Top